Archive | 7:01 pm

Social Bookmarking

27 Mar

Social bookmarking is something that I am just starting to use. On my internet page I have my favorite websites listed so that I can easily get to them without having to type in the URL address; so why not have this for all of my most used websites?

There are so many times that I am doign research for school, or looking up different things in the news and want to get to a previously viewed site but can remember what it was. This also happens when I am doing research at home and then need to finish it in a school lab, or vice versa.

By bookmarking my sites I don’t have the problem of losing information. This is also a great tool to use in groups. Most of the time my groups divide up the research sections and then come to together in the end to finish the project. If the group creates a username in a bookmarking site then we can all compile our information and review it together, or check to see that everyone is on the same page.

I am using the site Diigo to compile my websites. I have everything from my school website, to my blog, to Eonline.com bookmarked. I thought this would be a monotonous process to bookmark the sites, but in the end it is so worth it!

Social Bookmarking Video